The social acceptance of the LGBT community in Suriname

A good friend of mine asked me to write about a subject with a bigger social impact. She gave me some examples and I decided to write about the social acceptance of the LGBT community in Suriname. Since I don’t have much information on this subject, I did some research.

LGBT in Suriname accepted or not?

Most people know that the LGBT community in Suriname is growing each year, because more and more people are cominglgbt-in-suriname-accepted-or-not “out of the closet”. I think that this is proof that more people are becoming open minded about this.

Yet, as I read in an article about the church’s opinion there is still a large group that does not accept the LGBT community in Suriname. This is understandable, in my opinion, because the church teaches that a woman is made for a man and there are no variations on the rule. So obviously, they have a problem with male-male or female-female relationships.

Varying opinions

The coming out week in Suriname was held in October this year. In an interview, they asked some people if they consider LGBT rights as human rights. The opinions varied from “yeah, I guess so” to “well, they are people but they do not have the same rights as ‘normal people’” and even “hell no, that’s just not right”.

varying-opinions-lgbt-rights

I say, everyone is entitled to have an opinion. I personally think we should all just respect each other. Whether we’re straight, gay, bisexual or anything else. If you don’t like a certain group, that’s fine. Then stay out of their way as they will most likely stay out of yours too. We’re all people and we need to stop the hate in the world if we want a better future for our children and if we’re lucky, we may just live to see the day when the world is a better place.

Leave a comment