Covid, movies and emotions…

Hey guys, as you may have noticed, I haven’t posted any new blogs in a while. My last post was a little while before Covid-19 or the Corona Virus, however you want to call it. In this period a lot has changed in my life. But we’ll get to that another time, maybe.

Movies to feel something

As you can imagine, I have watched a lot of movies and (new to me) tv series. After a while, most movies didn’t spark that much emotion in me as they might have before. So, I switched to watching thrillers. Some were good and others were less interesting. I noticed that quite a lot of thrillers were getting pretty predictable. Especially the “The wrong …” franchise. It’s probably not even really a franchise, but they’re all thrillers with Vivica Fox playing some secondary, yet important role. This meant that I needed to find something else to feel something. Because the lockdown and other measurements to minimize Covid made me feel kind of dead inside. Anyway, I figured if fear or being startled didn’t help, maybe sadness will. And again, a lot of movies didn’t really help in that department. This was even the fact after I decided to specifically look for “tear-jerkers”. But then it came…

Five Feet Apart (2019)

I watched the movie Five Feet Apart and didn’t think it would do much, especially since we’re supposed to stay 6 feet apart due to Covid as well. So, I figured it would be some cheesy movie about a sick person, who could infect others. In a sense, it really was that kind of a movie. But – SPOILER ALERT – I was wrong. At first it really was a cute movie about “forbidden love”, since the main characters weren’t allowed to get close to each other. But then the gay dude died right when he was about to take a huge step forward in the relationship department. And guys, I cried my eyes out. Then things seemed to get a little better and I was smiling at the stupid, cute things the main characters were doing together. I was shocked for a second when the girl fell off the small bridge, but then I smiled again because she seemed fine. But again, things just can’t stay cute right? No, she fell in and when she was “fished out” she couldn’t breathe. She needed mouth to mouth, but the guy’s bacteria could be deadly to her. At this moment I thought, no, wtf?!! I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat. I understood why he gave her mouth to mouth, but I also understood the consequences. When he gave up, sort of, because he was out of air, she started breathing again. So now I’m thinking no! Now he’s dead! *cue tears* Turns out, he’s fine, at least fine enough to organize a special party for her. Somehow, she didn’t get his bacteria (I mean Covid ruined that one for the movie, because mouth to mouth would definitely transfer the bacteria). Anyway, now he confessed that his treatment isn’t working so he’s going to die. And they just expect us to accept it and be positive. Well, no sirree! I cried my eyes out again. I even needed comfort from my special person – who laughed while hugging me and then asked me why in God’s name I watch sad movies on purpose and then need comfort when they make me sad. Whatever right? That’s not my problem. I like a good cry every now and then. Deal with it lol.

All The Bright Places (2020)

Let’s fast forward a few days. In this time, I watched a few other movies, but none hit me like Five Feet Apart. Then I started watching All The Bright Places. I don’t really watch trailers and usually just read the synopsis. And since I don’t know the names of most actors or actresses, it’s usually a surprise when I see one I like in a “new” movie. This happened again. Only it was an actor I didn’t like. I had only seen him in 1 other movie, that I’ve recently watched and that was “Every Day (2018)”. And his character was an absolute A-hole in that movie. (No offence to the movie, because it may not have made me ugly-cry, but it did invoke some tears). So, I wasn’t too pleased when I saw him in this movie as well. Most of the time they make actors/actresses play similar roles in different movies, so you can’t say that I judged a book by its cover. Anyway, back to the movie. He was actually a nice guy in this movie. I start to like him and what he does for the main character. I do understand, while watching the movie, that he also has a dark past and maybe even a dark side. I was confused when he wanted to “stay awake before he died”, but that made sense later. Especially when the fight breaks out. Then we see him completely break down. Anyone who has struggled with mental health issues understands where he’s coming from. We also understand that others may not understand why he acted that way. So, he pushes miss girlfriend away – predictable. She then overcomes her fear of driving and goes after him – another cliché but whatever, it’s cute when you’re watching it. And she finds his car and his clothes and screams his name. She even screams “Marco” – a reference to when they were playing Marco-Polo. I’m still thinking this jokester will just pop up out of nowhere. Boom! Next scene: his funeral. And I’m still thinking, maybe he just doesn’t want to be found, he’ll still pop up. Slowly the reality sinks in, this dude is really dead. And now girlfriend is re-visiting all the places they went to and she’s doing the oral report, which only makes you feel even sadder that boyfriend can’t be there. So here come the tears again. I ugly cried on partner’s stomach again – sorry babe!

Anyway, I just wanted to share these two movies with everyone who likes a good tear-jerker. Also, I wanted my followers to know that I’m ok because I didn’t blog for over a year. So, hey guys! I’m doing alright 🙂 Watch these movies please 😀

Leave a comment