My opinion of the Just Dance games

In 2013 I first heard of the Just Dance games. I saw a documentary on TV about this game and immediately wanted to play it. When I got the Just Dance 2014 game for Christmas that year, nothing could have made me happier. I played the game almost every day.

The newer versions

just-dance-2014-and-newer-versionsBecause Just Dance 2014 was such a hit in my opinion, I immediately ordered the 2015 version when it came out. I thought it was cool that this version had the community remix option. In this version, the songs didn’t interest me that much (at first). After a while I did start to like some of them. I didn’t think the choreographies were that great either…

I thought, “Hey, I’ll give the 2016 version a chance. Maybe that will top the 2015 version.” Unfortunately this version was a disappointment too. I’m not saying that all the songs blow, but I didn’t feel the need to play this version daily either. To not get disappointed again, I didn’t buy the 2017 version.

The “weird” songs

One thing that I did find extremely funny in all of the versions of Just Dance that I own was that the “weird” songs had the most fun choreographies. By “weird”, I mean the – to me – unknown songs on the disk. I’m referring to songs such as:

  • Isidora – Bog Bog Orkestar (Just Dance 2014);
  • Moskau – Dschinghis Khan (Just Dance 2014);
  • Nitro Bot – Sentai Express (Just Dance 2014);
  • Fatima – Cheb Salama (Just Dance 2015);
  • Tetris – Hirokazu Tanaka (Dancing Bros.) (Just Dance 2015);
  • Xmas Tree – Bollywood Santa (Just Dance 2015);
  • Gibberish – MAX (Just Dance 2016).

the-weird-songs-just-dance

Singables

Of course, all three versions had songs that I may not like to dance on, but that I love singing along to. The sad fact here is that not all versions have choreographies made especially for singing and the ones that do, don’t have the “sing-along mode” for all songs… This results in forcefully trying to dance – sometimes wildly – and sing at the same time. Some songs that I love to sing along to are:

  • Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In – The Fifth Dimension (Just Dance 2014);
  • I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor (Just Dance 2014);
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye met Tammi Terrell (Just Dance 2015);
  • Let It Go – Idina Menzel (Just Dance 2015);
  • The Fox (What Does the Fox Say?) – Ylvis (Just Dance 2015);
  • All About That Bass – Meghan Trainor (Just Dance 2016);
  • Hit the Road Jack – Charles Percy (as made famous by Ray Charles) (Just Dance 2016);
  • Under the Sea – Disney’s The Little Mermaid (as made famous by Samuel E. Wright) (Just Dance 2016);
  • You’re the One That I Want – From the Movie Grease (as made famous by John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John) (Just Dance 2016).

singables-just-dance-sing-along

Of course, everyone has his/her own taste in music, so this article is in no way meant to make people not buy the Just Dance discs. Even though I like the 2014 version best, the others have their good songs and choreographies too.

Leave a Reply

